web builder

Ajay Kumar, CPA

908-380-6876

NJ Paid Sick Leave Law

A lot of businesses are asking this question lately, so I summarized a quick overview of NJ Paid sick leave law Act that was signed recently. The NJ Paid sick leave law Act goes into effect on October 29, 2018 and applies to people who work in New Jersey. The Act allows employees to accrue one hour of sick leave time per thirty hours worked and requires employers to pay employees for earned sick leave time at their regular rate of pay.
 
Here are some of the dos and don’ts of the new law
  • Nearly all business, regardless of size, DO have to provide 40 hours of paid sick leave a year to all employees, including part-timers.
  • You DO NOT have to provide employees with 40 hours all at once. Employers can have employees accrue time at a rate of one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours they work.
  • You DO have to allow employees to carry unused sick time from one year to the next, but it can be capped at 40 hours per year.
  • You DO NOT have to pay employees for their unused sick time when they leave.
  • You DO have to pay employees who take paid sick leave at the same rate and with the same salary that employee normally earns.
For more information about this law, please check the link below: http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2018/Bills/A2000/1827_R1.PDF
Ajay Kumar, CPA

 5 Villa Farms Cir;
Monroe Township,
New Jersey 08831, U.S.A.

Contact us

Email: akumar@saicpaservices.com, saicpaservices@gmail.com 

Office:
732-906-5656,
732-215-9600

Cell: 908-380-6876
Fax: 908-368-8638